NUTTY n NICE

My First Earth Hour Experience (2014)

This was supposed to be the event I look forward to the most this weekend.  After work I went to the mall to witness Earth Hour and to take photos of course.  Since it’s gonna be hours later, I  decided to wait and buy something while I’m at it.  Finally the time has arrived.  I went out side the mall where they held the event and saw this

a beautiful arrangement of candles with people crowding to take a picture

A beautiful arrangement of candles with people crowding to take a picture

It was crazy.  I have to let the man on the scaffolding take these top view pictures.

It was crazy. I have to let the man on the scaffolding take these shots to get a better view. Spell crowd control.

I was waiting for the area to clear up a bit, but photobombs are everywhere.

See?  This is me.  I'm only this tall.

See? This is me. I’m only this tall.

I can see clearly on this side. Might as well.

I can see clearly on this side. Might as well.

Just a little trick

Just a little trick

looking forward for the fun part - the switch off.

looking forward for the fun part – the switch off.

It was a world wide event.  The organizers showed us what happened around the world where countries participated.  Landmarks like The Eiffel Tower and many others just seem to disappear in the night.   Like a total block out. It was spectacular!  Speeches from the city officials were given, but the mayor wasn’t there.  (I don’t know why – no malice though).  There was a larger than life symbolical light switch on the stage (which I didn’t bother photograph ‘coz candles are more fun to shoot).  The Cast of The Amazing Spider-man gave a message (only on the screen, unfortunately)  All was set!(Pardon my excitement.  Did I mention this was my first time?)   And the count down began!  10..9…8…7…6…5…4…3…2…1 and………..and….  to my disappointment… no. There was no total block out.  They switched off some lights I can tell, but I expected more.  The program went on.  More speech from the organizers.  I appreciate your effort by the way, organizers.  I really do (no pun intended).   I was able to ask one of the staff of the venue how come only some lights were switched off,  that’s because there were still shoppers inside the mall during the ceremonial “switch-off”.  I went home an hour after the countdown with a blog in mind.  And here it is!

earth hour

If you can’t capture a perfect top view, capture the close up.

But Earth Hour isn’t just about the “switch-off for an hour”  It’s really about conserving the energy we consume everyday.  Most of us in this technologically advanced world can’t seem to put down our gadgets.  You know what I’m talking about.  Tablets, laptops and what-not’s.  Frankly,  we needlessly spend more time with things that consume a lot of energy than doing what needs to be done around the house (don’t hate me now).  How about breathing some fresh air in the garden.  Relax.  Read a book while sipping a cup of coffee under a tree or wherever there is nature for a change.  Life is simple.  Know what matters most.  Just turn that thing off will yah!

This entry was published on March 30, 2014 at 5:01 PM. It’s filed under In My City, Philippines and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Don't forget to leave a comment. Thank you!

