NUTTY n NICE

Summer Trip Part 1

I hitched a ride with kind friends.  They’re like family to me.   To be honest, I wasn’t THAT prepared (physically and financially) for a three-day-island-life, but I went anyway.  It’s an invitation you don’t wanna miss.  I packed light, brought my daughter with me for a breather.  After a four-hour road trip (if I calculated it right),  we finally arrived at the port.  The water looked so inviting already, but we’re not there yet.

Image

I am facing the port to the island. That’s our ride waiting.

While waiting, I can’t help but appreciate the beautiful nature around me.  So I took the liberty before leaving the port to the island.

What lies behind me

What lies behind me

It was 1pm I think.  And there were tiny drops of water from heaven, but that did not rock the boat.  Restless excitement did a little though.  Soon the commotion ended after a little scolding from my bestfriend’s mom.  There were a few first timers on the little boat, she’s one of them.  Hehe Quiet! I’m kidding Tita. 😉 xoxo

And off we go.  To the island!!!

And off we go. To the island!!!

I’m so excited, I can’t help but do this…

Put your left foot in put your right foot in.. and dip 'em all about! Weeee

Put your left foot in put your right foot in.. and dip ’em all about! Weeee!!!!

The kid in front of me gets splashed from time to time.  Sorry kid, I don’t get to do this everyday you know.  Lighten up! 😛

and we are near! WOOOOOOOOOT WOOOOT!

and we are near! WOOOOOOOOOT WOOOOT!

We didn’t stay there though.  That was at the edge of the island we were going.

Wow that looks like a perfect spot to swim in.

Wow that looks like a perfect spot to swim in.

I know from the start that was the place.  The part of the island where I would swim and relax for most of the time.

And we're here!  Tents were already up.  The house saying, "Come in make yourself at home."

And we’re here! Tents were already set up. The house saying, “Come in make yourself at home.”

Others got here the day before.  All friends and friends of friends and family.  Thank you for accommodating us here.  We feel very welcome. 🙂  Just before the boat hit the beach,  my daughter saw something.  “What was that?!”  Keen eye little kiddo saw a baby sea snake Walo-Walo (eight-eight)  Old folks say if you get yourself bitten by one you’d only have 8 hours to live, hence the name.  But I wasn’t sure about that, I haven’t tried and I didn’t plan to.  Thank God I didn’t have a close physical encounter with their kind.  Good thing I got my camera ready.  He seems to be moving slowly waiting for me to take a photo of him.  Congratulations buddy you made it on my blog. 🙂 Thanks for posing.

Well, what do you know?  Some local made a welcome appearance, too.

Well, what do you know? A local made a welcome appearance, too.

Put your sunblock on and lie  underneath the shade of a big tree by the beach.  Reserve your energy for later when the sun is no longer mad for you to play.

I don't usually wear shorts, but this is the beach, baby!  And the sun is scorching hot at 2pm.

I don’t usually wear shorts, but this is the beach, baby! And the sun is scorching hottt!

Aaaaaahhh the shade.  This and a banig is all you need.

Aaaaaahhh the shade…  This and a banig is all you need.

My little muse having the time of her life. je t'aime bébé

My little muse having the time of her life. je t’aime bébé

Hmmn.. seaweed snack.  Looks like Dyesebel dropped by to welcome us, too.

Hmmn.. seaweed snack. Looks like Dyesabel dropped by to welcome us, too.

A little trivia now.  For those of you not familiar with Dyesabel (Je-sa-bel), she’s a mermaid created by Mars Ravelo, a Filipino comic book writer from way back in history.  Anyway, she eats seaweeds.  My daughter gave me this while she was playing on the beach.  I thought it looks perfect like that from a mermaid.  Here it is!  Bon Appétit, anyone?  No? Okay (I did not bother tasting either hehehe).

What is this, marine biologist?  I have no idea.

What is this, marine biologist? I have no idea.

Enough resting under the tree.  It’s time for us to get to know the surroundings.  Diverse sea creatures living here. Which is a good sign in terms of nature and balance. (What I have here are just a few.  Very few in fact compared to what I saw the whole weekend.

Some kind of a snail?  Gary, (from Spongebob Squarepants) is that you?

Some kind of a snail? Gary, (from Spongebob Squarepants) is that you?

Low tide and clear waters revealed this shallow underwater life.  I wonder if he lives in that whole?  A lot of creeping things on the beach if I may add.  Nomads carrying their homes on their backs.

Hey, I heard that!  Are you talking about me?

Hey, I heard that! Are you talking about me?

Kids, I know it’s fun to pick and collect shells on the beach, but please leave the ones that are still intact.  Bring home the broken shells instead.  These guys need a home.  Play nice.

Sun's reflection on low tide still waters

Sun’s reflection on low tide still waters

Jelly fish here

Jelly fish here

Damn these guys.  Too friendly.  One got me on me arm.  Bad Jelly!  How could I forget thee.

Coconuts there

Coconuts there

Of course

In case you can’t read, “Wish you’re here” it says…. of course!

Sorry that was badly executed.  I was a bit conscious.  I wasn’t alone strolling by the beach you know. hehehe  But I’ll do it anyway.  I don’t care, I love it.

Let's go over there!

Let’s go over there!

Behind those rocks the reveal.  Behold a perfect spot to swim and chill.

Behind those rocks the reveal. Behold a perfect spot to swim and chill.  This is low tide by the way.

And when you're down there, look up and see the stairs leading you to the stone bench and table.

And when you’re down there, look up and see the stairs leading you to the stone bench and table.

Photo credits by Jihan

Photo credits by Jihan

The view from up here

The view from up here

Who would go the the beach and miss the sunset?  Especially one like this?

Who would go the the beach and miss the sunset? Especially one like this?

Wellp,  that’s all for now.  Thanks for stopping by.  That was my Holy Thursday.  Thank you Lord for the gift of nature.  It is indeed beautiful.

This entry was published on April 20, 2014 at 10:49 PM. It’s filed under Family, Philippines, Self and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

9 thoughts on “Summer Trip Part 1

  1. Thank you all for liking this post. As you can see it’s just the part one. The part 2 will be published next year.

    Just kidding! I’m still waiting for the photos from another camera. Just wait for it. 😉 Enjoy the summer!

    Like

  2. your blog is beautiful. the jelly fish photo is so close!

    Like

Don't forget to leave a comment. Thank you!

