NUTTY n NICE

PYGCCO ala Thessa

Why the name?  That doesn’t sound appetizing!  It sounds weird!  What is that?!  Is that your reaction when you saw the title?  It’s ok.  (You sound like a mean girl by the way)  I don’t care, I love it!  I’m weird that’s why.  But before we go eat, how’s about delaying gratification?  I want to tell you a very short story how I ended up cooking this dish.  It all started when (uh-oh that sounds like the start of a very long story though),  I bought the veggies from the market because I was inspired to cook something for you guys (I hope you’ll like it).  After that, I went to the grocery store to buy celery (because I want to TRY plant it later – gardening starts tomorrow).  I  was planning to cook my favorite chicken dish with carrots, cabbage and potatoes in tomato sauce.  But I ended up with this instead.

Ingredients:

1 onion, tomato, carrot, potato all medium sized

3 cloves of garlic (or as many as you want)

Image

1/4 of a whole chicken cut into cubes (you can use breast fillet as much as you prefer, but 1 would do) Salted and set aside

1 pack of 115g Tomato sauce

Salt and these guys to taste

We are those guys!!! Use us instead of msg.

We are those guys!!! Use us instead of msg.

Hey, McCormick you owe me for advertising!  Just saying…

and of course 1/4 of the cabbage head. HEY! WHERE’S MY CABBAAAAAAGE!!!! Nooooooooo… Apparently I must have left it at the market. tsk!  But it’s not the end of the world, thanks to my Celery I think it tasted better!

I think I used a lot...Now this goes to the ground tomorrow :)

I think I used a lot…Now this goes to the ground tomorrow 🙂

It depends on how much celery stalks you want to use.  I’m not the measuring-everything-kind-of-cook.

Now Let’s cook this thing!!!

Step 1 Saute garlic,onions and tomato in a pan with cooking oil (your choice)

Step 2 If that smells good already add your salted chicken meat.  Stir

Step 3 Add the potatoes (it needs to be cooked with the chicken)

Step 4 Add salt and a dash of them spices

Step 5 When Chicken turns white add 1-2 cups of water.  Cover in medium heat.  Lower heat when it starts to boil.

SIMMER FOR 10 MINUTES (take selfies or what nots while waiting)

Step 6 Add Celery, Carrots and tomato sauce.  Stir.  Simmer for 5 mins.  Turn off heat.  Taste.  Satisfied?  Serve it while hot.

and... Viola!  The rice came out of nowhere.

and… Viola! The rice came out of nowhere.

Welcome to the Philippines where almost everything comes with rice.  If you don’t like rice you can have your bread of choice.  Whatever, just eat it. This makes 3-4 servings (add more water and meat to make 5-6 servings.LOL)

This is how we do it.  Rice toppings, baby!  Bon Appetit!

This is how we do it. Rice toppings, baby! Bon Appetit!

Dinner is served!  Thanks for joining me.  Drop by again next time for another episode of…. My Weird Chehefff

PYGCCO (Potato,Yellow,Green,Celery,Carrot,Orange)

 

 

 

This entry was published on April 27, 2014 at 8:17 AM. It’s filed under Food, Humor, Philippines and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Don't forget to leave a comment. Thank you!

