NUTTY n NICE

The healthy eater grew up to be a heathy eater.

Photo taken from The Natural Parent Magazine (Facebook Page)

Photo taken from The Natural Parent Magazine (Facebook Page)

As I was going through my wall (no I’m not a ghost, not yet),  I came across a photo that got me thinking.  Well, to be honest the first food I fed my baby was a cereal (tun tun tun…)!  She was past four months and her pediatrician said she’s ready.  So after we got home I opened a box of rice cereal (very excited) and fed it to my baby and what a mess it was and a joy to see.  Had I known this? Not yet.  I am not bashing any brand here just to be clear.  I am merely using this medium to express how I feel about feeding the right food to kids.

It’s been a few years now that I got into the organic concept and realized how important it is to feed our body the food that’s meant for us.  More so to our kids.  My baby grew up eating mashed vegetables and fruit.  Her favorite was and still is Laswa (http://www.experiencenegros.com/ilonggo-food-laswa-recipe/)  She’s now 9 years old and I am proud to say that she eats what we eat.  She’s a healthy eater (fruits, vegetables, fish) compared to the kids(frozen and processed foodies) her age (where we are).  I hope she continues to eat mindfully as she grows up.

Anyway, I am not saying that we are perfect and we are more superior than the regular (because we’re not and no one is).  To be honest, we still have a bite of  “the junks” out there sometimes (but not binge). My point is (sorry if my thoughts are all over the place. I don’t like outlines)… my point starts with a question.  What if all kids are mindful eaters (oh, how I wish)?  What if kids eat what’s good for them and not just what tastes sweet or salty? The answer is, they won’t. They’re kids for crying out loud!  But you know, kids observe.  Kids can listen.  Kids can be educated (and brainwashed..bwahahaaah – but in a good way).  They just have to understand what’s good for them.  If the future relies on the kids now, what would the future be if we feed them what they want?  Worse, just give them what they want (so they won’t bother us).  Do kids know what’s good for them is the first place? No. That’s our cue to enter the scene.  Hey, we are THE parents and we know what’s good for them and we love them enough to make them live a happy and healthy life.  I don’t know about you, but this is me.

There she is!

There she is!

This entry was published on June 18, 2014 at 1:26 AM. It’s filed under Family, Food, In My City, Parenting, Self and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Don't forget to leave a comment. Thank you!

